Awards 2020

Submissions for the 2020 FOCAL International Awards are now open! Enter by clicking this link

Early Bird Entry Rates until December 16th 2019. Submissions Close on February 7th 2020.

The FOCAL Awards celebrate the very best use of archival footage across the creative and cultural industries from cinematic features to the use of footage in live events. We also celebrate the best examples of archive restoration and preservation practice and the people and companies that make up the industry.

If you would like to enter a production, film, project or person, read more about categories via the links below or contact us with questions on Eligible productions must have had a release or some kind of public distribution during the 2019 calendar year. For further information please read our entry guidelines.

Read more about the 2020 Production Categories

Read more about the 2020 Restoration and Preservation Categories

MORE INformation ABOUT THE 2020 PERSONNEL CATEGORIES including the Jane Mercer researcher of the year, Footage Person and Footage Company of the Year will be published shortly.

Enter the 2020 FOCAL Awards here

Payment Information
As a not-for-profit trade organisation, we charge an entry fee to enable FOCAL to cover costs of delivering the competition and annual awards ceremony:

  • All Submissions to each Award production or restoration category will be charged an early bird fee of £65 (+ VAT) if entering prior to December 16th 2019. From December 16th 2019 and until the submissions deadline, the standard entry fee per category is £80 (+VAT). Please note that you must have submitted and paid for your submissions prior to December 16th 2019 to be eligible for the early bird discount; all entry fees to be paid no later than February 7th 2020.
  • Entry fees for the short film category are £25 (+VAT) early bird rate or £40 (+VAT) standard rate. The same deadlines as above apply to this category.
  • We are also able to offer the following discounts for entering one submission to multiple categories. When entering one submission to two pr three categories, you will receive 10% off the total submission price. The discount will apply to both the early bird and standard l entry free price, whichever is relevant, at the time of submission.
  • The same discount will also be applied when one organisation is submitting multiple titles/entries.

See the 2020 Awards Schedule and Key Dates for Entrants